Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 10 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: 4-20 mA Board
PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2019 6:42 am 

Joined: Sun May 26, 2019 6:37 am
Posts: 5
Hello,

I am trying to read 4-20mA value using:
- waspmote v12 card
- 4-20 mA sensor Board (I guess how to verify?) card

I am unable to get correct value using the sample code provided on libelium web site (v12 API)

I would like to know how to be sure I am working with a v12 card version of the 4-20mA board ?

BR


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4-20 mA Board
PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2019 9:10 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 12:06 pm
Posts: 11356
Hi,

The 4-20mA board is the same for the v12 and v15 Waspmote version.

Are you reading some sensor that works with the 4-20 protocol?

Regards.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4-20 mA Board
PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 4:20 am 

Joined: Sun May 26, 2019 6:37 am
Posts: 5
Yes, I have a Plug1Sense Industrial 4-20 (v15) and this was working good.

Using the Waspmote Pro v12 + 4-20mA board + IDE 04 + API 023 I am not able to read correct value from a 4-20mA current generator.

Starting from scratch I tested using:
- the first example provided on the IDE/API
and I got the following output:
Int value read from channel 2: 129
Voltage value read from channel 2: 0.4161290168V
Current value read from channel 2: 2.5219941139mA
***************************************

- the second and third example:
sensor is not connected

Maybe the board is not correctly connected I can see the 2 last pins on the left empty on the waspmote board


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4-20 mA Board
PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 7:42 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 12:06 pm
Posts: 11356
Please share with us an image of the board bottom and top layer and an image of the connection.

In any case, please also with the last API version, it should be compatible with v12.

Regards.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4-20 mA Board
PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2019 5:34 am 

Joined: Sun May 26, 2019 6:37 am
Posts: 5
Thanks, find attached the pictures:
Image
Image
Image

Using the IDE v6 and the last API 041 I got value on CHANNEL3 but wrong value:
Int value read from channel 3: 134
Voltage value rad from channel 3: 0.4322580337V
Current value read from channel 3: 2.6197457313mA
***************************************

I should have 20 mA
When changing the current on the simulator to 4mA I got:
Int value read from channel 3: 132
Voltage value rad from channel 3: 0.4258064746V
Current value read from channel 3: 2.5806453227mA
***************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4-20 mA Board
PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2019 8:06 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 12:06 pm
Posts: 11356
Hi,

Which device are you trying to read with the board?

If you're reading a sensor with the external power supply you should remove the jumper from the channel you're using.

Let us know if it works.

Regards.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4-20 mA Board
PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2019 8:09 am 

Joined: Sun May 26, 2019 6:37 am
Posts: 5
I am reading 4-20mA value from a 4-20mA current simulator:
- V+ (connected to a 220V-24V power)
- GND 0V (connected to the 220V-24V power
- 4-20mA output (connected to output3+ of the 4-20mA board)
- GND 0V (connected to the output3- of the board

I have tested with the jumper 3 removed but no success, the value is different but still not correct regarding the current injected into the loop by the sensor (using the first example).

Same behavior using the third example showing "sensor not connected"

BR

Emmanuel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4-20 mA Board
PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2019 1:00 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 12:06 pm
Posts: 11356
Hi Emmanuel,

Your connection with the simulator is a Type 4 loop current, please test it in channel 4 because is the channel that supports this kind of connection. Test it with and without the jumper and let us know.

In any case, Could you please share with us the model or an image of the 4-20mA simulator?

Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4-20 mA Board
PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2019 10:30 pm 

Joined: Sun May 26, 2019 6:37 am
Posts: 5
Hello , thx for your feedback.

I tested as you advise:
- CHANNEL4 with and without the jumper

I used the following code:
http://www.libelium.com/v12/development ... c-example/


Without the jumper:
-----------------------
Int value read from channel 4: 110
Voltage value rad from channel 4: 0.3548387050V
Current value read from channel 4: 2.1309874057mA
***************************************

With the jumper:
-------------------
Int value read from channel 4: 132
Voltage value rad from channel 4: 0.4258064746V
Current value read from channel 4: 2.5806453227mA
***************************************

It is not working as the 4-20mA simulator send 7,60mA.
I know the simulator is correct because it has been tested with:
- another LoraWAN 4-20mA transmitter, decoded value was Ok
- another Libelium P&S 4-20mA (v15), decoded value Ok

Image

Picture attached


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4-20 mA Board
PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2019 9:34 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 12:06 pm
Posts: 11356
Hi,

Please fill the RMA form and our tech support team will contact you to solve the issue.
https://www.libelium.com/contact/#rma

Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 10 posts ]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Libelium theme based on 610nm Style by Daniel St. Jules of http://www.gamexe.net


© Libelium Comunicaciones Distribuidas S.L. | Terms of use.